Minutes from Jan. 13 board meeting

AAUW Tar Heel Branch Board Meeting
January 13, 2010

Call to Order and Roll Call President Doris Bernlohr called meeting to order at 7:15. A quorum was present with 5 Board Members. (Present: Doris Bernlohr, Nancy Shoemaker, Pat Abell, Mary Fran Schickedantz, Judy Atkinson. Absent: Queen Thompson)

President Bernlohr addressed the need for the THB to revise a couple of bylaw changes to bring them into compliance and reflect our current practice. Nancy Shoemaker agreed to draft the language for these changes and send to the board before posting them for consideration of the branch.

The 12/31/2009 treasurer’s report is posted at https://aauwtarheel.wordpress.com/2010/01/06/treasurers-report-123109/.

The THB dues for 2010-11 are $5. The board discussed the 18-month membership and more information can be found at the following:

North Carolina Women United will be inviting AAUW NC to a Membership Showcase. It was recommended that $25 be taken from the marketing budget to be used to support this event. Judy Atkinson made the motion to allocate the $25 and Pat Abell seconded. Motion was approved.

The 2010-2011 Ballot for Tar Heel Branch Officers will be sent out March 8th. Voting will end on April 6, 2010.

President Bernlohr asked the Tar Heel Board to submit two questions that may be asked on a quick survey of “how we are doing?” Please submit by January 31, 2010 to President Bernlohr.

Meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,
Judy Atkinson, Acting Secretary

4 responses to “Minutes from Jan. 13 board meeting

  1. The following amendment to the minutes was approved by an electronic vote of the board on Feb. 22, 2010:

    A draft of the branch policies was posted on May 26. A draft of the 2010-2011 budget was posted on May 28. There were no corrections or amendments to either document. On June 11, President Bernlohr e-mailed the board with a link to a ballot to approve the branch policies and the 2010-2011 branch budget and set a deadline for voting of June 22. Five of the six other members of the board voted. All voted yes to approve the policies and the budget.

  2. For links to the original documents discussed in the June 2009 electronic vote and referenced above, see




  3. Another item should have been included in these minutes. In October, 2009, the board appointed the 2010-2011 nominating committee by with an email vote: Grace Knectel (chair), Judy Atkinson, Mary Morrow.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s